There are now laws for car window tinting that were developed in 2009. These regulations apply to cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Some of the vehicles may be exempt from this. Those included in the exemptions including buses, taxes, limos, and those that have specific medical permits.
Those that make the tinting film need to require that they are legally able to sell them in the state of Texas. They need to have certified film or they will not be allowed. There are some conditions that need to be met.
Tinting devices need to be put above the AS 1 line on the car. If there is no ling a tinting device needs to be five inches below the top of the windshield. This line is found on most cars and it runs parallel to the top of the windshield. It is around 5 inches from the top.
There are color guidelines for the tint. They cannot be blue, red, or amber colored.
The device used to measure the original glass needs to have a light transmittance value of at least 25 percent.
The glass needs to have a luminous reflection of 25 percent or less.
A clear or an untinted film is allowed on the front windshield without a medical exemption.
There are regulations for the amount of light allowed inside the car. The percent of light is what is the factor that is important. Window tint needs to be based on the visible light transmission that is called VLT. This is the percentage of visible light that gets in the car. There are regulations based on whether a person is driving a car, SUV, or another vehicle.
WINDOW TINT DARKNESS LAWS
There are darkness laws required for passenger vehicles including:
- Windshields need to have a 25 percent VLT tint 5 inches from the top with at least 25 percent reflection.
- The front side windows need to allow at least 25 percent of the light in.
- The backside can be any darkness.
- The rare windows can allow darkness but the mirrors cannot be covered.
The tint may contain metallic elements that can reduce glare from incoming light.
The front side windows cannot be more than 25 percent reflective.
The back windows cannot be more than 25 percent reflective.
There are some exemptions. If a person has dark tinting they need a sticker to verify this tinting shade is legal. Medical exemptions will allow for darker tints. A tinting professional needs to install this specific tint to make sure they are doing so and that the driver will be safe. They all need to make sure the tint is legal.
Vehicles that are used by the police or other law enforcement agencies are exempt from this tint.
Cars that are used for medical purposes are also exempt. A doctor needs to write a note explaining if a person needs a darker tinted window. This needs to be approved by the Texas Department of Public safety.
Limos and buses are also exempt from these tinting laws. For example, the side windows are allowed to have darker tint so that the people riding inside can have some privacy while on the road.
If a person is looking to have the windows tinted they need to contact professionals to make sure the job is done correctly and the shade of the tint is legal. A person can call Denton Window Tinting at 817-997-4618 . The professionals will be able to answer any questions that a person may have and make sure their tint is done correctly and legally.